9 thoughts on “Not Faraway”

  1. Believe it or not, I have never, ever seen a palm tree! I guess I’m looking in the wrong places. I can imagine how the wind would catch in their leaves and make them sway as they do and make those swishing sounds you mention. With love, Ellie Xox xox

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Good morning, rather good evening to you, dear David. I hope you have a good day. Thankfully, I slept well last night, having only had three hours of sleep the night before. I never read ‘The Faraway Tree’. I did very little reading in my childhood as my mind was so distracted by the abuse I was suffering that my concentration was very difficult to find. I realise now I missed out on so many good children’s books. I still struggle to concentrate on reading now, much preferring to write. The books that I have in most use now are all reference books, such as my Roget’s Thesaurus and Dictionary of the Senses, as well as my beloved Rhyming Dictionary, which I fall back on when I am stuck for a rhyming word. I treasure this, as it was given to me as a gift from my much younger (by 14 years) sister back in 2007. With love, Ellie Xox xox

        Like

      2. They are great reference books Ellie. I had not heard of the Dictionary of the Senses. It sounds fascinating.
        ~
        I wonder if reading aloud to your grandchildren would help you to focus, and perhaps catch up on some innocent childhood books.
        When Alex was four or five he got chicken pox and spent the whole of a weekend on bed next to me whilst I read five (yes, five) Secret Seven books to him.
        That kind of book is probably way too old fashioned for modern kids, and I suspect your grand’s may be too old to want to listen to Grandma reading. But it sounds nice in theory.
        I hope you enjoy this weekend.
        Love
        DD
        XOX
        xox

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That must have been a very special time for you and Alex. As you say, even my youngest grandchild, at nine, would be too old (and unfortunately distracted by gadgets) to listen to me reading to him. My younger ones are given reading homework every day, so, if anything, I listen to them read aloud, although my eleven-year-old likes to read to herself. I’m always amazed by the complexities of the books she reads. She usually has four or five on the go at once! Sadly, I didn’t get to read to them when they were young, as my son was married to a woman with a very vindictive mother (who hasn’t changed and is, indeed, worse these days.) My son’s ex-wife was abusive to him, and Granny made sure I wasn’t able to see my grandchildren. I didn’t begin to see them until my son and his ex split up, and he moved in with his now fiancee, who the children adore, and they now live between their mother, near me, and stay up north when my son has them. Now, as you know, I can see them regularly, which is an absolute joy to me.

    And there endeth that piece of Thompson family history 😉.

    With my love,
    Ellie Xox xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am speechless, Ellie. Or rather the things I’m thinking about that other grandmother are best left unsaid.
      However hearing about the children thriving under your roof and with your son’s new family – fabulous.
      Love
      DD
      XOX
      xox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The other grandmother (granny) leaves me speechless, too. I don’t understand how she can be so cruel to the children by denying them contact with me and the remainder of my family, sisters, etc. She won’t even let the children phone my son on his birthday or even on Christmas Day if she has got them that year. I’m not allowed to speak to the children while they stay with their mother and granny. My son is not allowed any contact with the children while they are there. It’s all so unnecessarily cruel to the children.

        It is an absolute joy to have the children here. I love tucking them into bed at night and making their breakfast before school in the morning while my son is in the shower. I’m constantly reminding them how much I love them. I’m also so delighted to know they are wonderfully happy when staying with my son, his fiancee, and her three young boys. They all get on like a house on fire, which is wonderful to know and witness. Thank you for caring, dearest friend. Much love, Ellie Xox xox

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am very grateful of that fact, too, my friend. It is always a relief to know they are happy when they are here, and also when they are with my son and his new family, which my grandchildren form a big part of. They adore my son’s fiancee and she adores them, and the children all get on so well together. We are very blessed as, so often, there is fierce rivalry between step-siblings. With love, Ellie Xox xox

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment