7 thoughts on “No branding, by request”

  1. My strategy of buying the most comfortable clothes I can for the cheapest price sometimes results in my buying uber-branded clothing. My discount store purchase of an Adidas hoody makes me look as trendy as anyone. I don’t care. It’s the perfect weight and was only $15. A lot of my running and biking gear purchases are quite brand conscious, but that’s because they work well, not because I’m trying to impress anyone.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I don’t really go for branded items, either, unless, as you and Jeff say, you need a particular quality unavailable elsewhere. I have bought my fair share of branded clothes, purely because I liked them, from charity shops, though. It’s amazing what treasures there are in these places. I try not to buy new clothes these days because of the huge waste of natural resources like water and the ‘slave trade’ involved in producing new clothing.

    Unfortunately, much to my shame, my son and his fiancee are both brand freaks. All their and the five children’s clothes must be branded; otherwise, they just won’t do! Such a waste of money, but they both have excellent jobs. No Primark or M&S underwear for them; only the best will do! My son needed some underpants and socks for an unexpected overnight visit, and he went to John Lewis in town and came out with two pairs of pants and four pairs of socks for the mere sum of £60!!! I was horrified and couldn’t believe he could be so wasteful. All my grandchildren’s clothes from my son are branded, too. I call him a label snob! Oh, the shame … Love Ellie Xox xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naturally I ended up exaggerating a bit for the scan and rhyme of that Limerick but I really don’t buy based on brand alone and certainly don’t ‘identify’ with any brand. I’m surrounded by brand conscious relatives too. Maybe that’s the norm.
      Love
      DD
      XOX
      xox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Perhaps, it’s the younger generation who have grown up spoilt for choice that are so brand-conscious. We never had branded clothes in my childhood; at least as far as I was aware. Apart from which, my father kept my Mum very short on housekeeping and even getting food on the table was a challenge, let alone buying clothes. Mum used to mend pants, putting new elastic in them when they’d got loose, darn socks beautifully and sew and knit many of our clothes. The rest were secondhand or charity shop buys. My father was a very mean and cruel man. He kept himself in only the best, dined out a lot with his girlfriend, while Mum and us four sisters constantly went without. How he could call himself a father, I really don’t know. Love Ellie Xox xox

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment