6 thoughts on “Green with amity”

  1. A lovely haiku, and what a gorgeous bird in the gumtree. Its colours are quite spectacular. We don’t have gum trees here, as you know, but if I remember rightly (or possibly, wrongly), we had an old eucalyptus at the bottom of our garden. I was mostly dead when we moved here and eventually fell onto the steep bank it was growing on. You rarely see them anymore. We never moved it, so I guess it must have rotted away long ago. Love Ellie Xox xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. An ‘Uncle George’ visited from the UK many years ago. His initial judgement on the Gum – “Oogleh tree’. (That’s more or less the sound of a Northern accent saying ugly).
      But he grew to like them after several months here and perhaps my advice to look inside the tree rather than at the outline shape.
      That advice is about seeing the drape of the leaves, their individual colours, the wriggly lines of branches sketching through the sky and of course the patina of bark, which is utterly gorgeous on some trees. Look hard enough and you’ll see the birds too. “Loovleh”.
      ~
      Of course the chatter and calling of the birds is often (but not always) very beautiful. Here is a link if you are interested. Sorry if ads crop up.
      https://duckduckgo.com/?q=spund%20of%20lorikeets&ko=-1&iax=videos&ia=videos&iai=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Df8WkBLmk5Jo
      Love
      DD
      XOX
      xox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry, David. Your comment from several days ago on this post managed to get lost on my computer somewhere, and I’ve just found it again. Unfortunately, the link didn’t work; it just brought up a blank screen, which was a shame. And I agree with you about looking at a tree, not just looking, but really, really looking to see the true beauty of it. And if you spot one of your beautiful native birds in it, that’s a real bonus.

        You have such colourful birds over there. The nearest we get to a reasonably colourful bird is the Jay, and you don’t see many of those about. I can’t remember the last time I saw one in my garden. Of course, there are robins with red breasts, which are rather lovely, and we get quite a few of them. In the tall trees on the steep bank at the bottom of my garden, I get lots of collared doves, pigeons, magpies and rooks, which make a real noise. We used to get loads of sparrows, but they seem quite rare now.

        I blame it all on deforestation, not just in places like the Amazon but also on local trees that are felled in the name of infrastructure, housing estates, apartments, etc. The council says they plant a new tree for every tree they lop down, but baby trees can’t support much of an ecosystem until they mature in about 20 years. It’s just how the council justifies and gets away with chopping down perfectly good mature trees. That’s absolutely no good and makes me mad.

        Right, I’d better get off my soapbox now!

        I do get the occasional blue or great tit nests, but unfortunately, the fledglings often try flying and land on the ground instead. That’s when Peanut grabs them and brings them indoors. It breaks my heart because these little birds suffer from shock, which can kill them or, worse still, are injured. Peanut doesn’t kill or eat the birds she catches; she just brings them in for me as ‘presents’. ‘Thanks, Peanut, but I don’t appreciate these presents.’ I have a small bird carrier with a heatpad and blankets to keep the birds warm and put them in the dark somewhere, hoping they will survive, but most of them don’t. With me not being a vet, they usually die, which is awful, as then I’m left with the decision of how to dispose of them, given that I can’t get out into my garden to bury them in nature. My only option is to wrap them up carefully for their last journey into my dustbin. That’s heartbreaking, knowing they’ll be minced up by the bin lorry when it comes. I feel so guilty but have no other option.

        With love, Ellie Xox xox 🌳

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment