5 thoughts on “Healing by ferns”

  1. Yes to the ancient ferns! The licorice sword fern, yo’! That’s from our neck of the woods—ubiquitous out here. Just trimmed all of mine up for spring and new fronds!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They will heal by keeping you fit wielding a trimmer, Bill.
      I’ll have a look at some pics of liquorice sword ferns before heading to work. I’ll try spelling with a c tho. I reckon that will get me there quicker.
      Have a great evening Bill.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a gorgeous and idyllic place, David. Is this a photo you have taken of somewhere you’ve been? My Mum used to have ferns growing in her garden, which was her pride and joy, but nothing on the scale of the ferns in your photo. I love the stream and the pebbles leading down to it. I have a ‘thing’ about pebbles, stones and crystals. They all have such a natural beauty.

    Talking of Mum’s beautiful garden, which she tended so well every single day when it wasn’t raining, I recently made the mistake of looking at the house where I’d grown up on Google Earth, only to find the front door was no longer orange, my Mum’s favourite colour, but was now a dull and miserable grey. I could also see that the back garden Mum had spent years tending had been completely concreted over. How sad. All those 60 years of her putting so much love into it, now to have all the life ripped out of it and replaced with cold, hard concrete. I wish I hadn’t looked on Google Earth and could remember it more the way Mum left it. With love, Ellie Xox xox

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A grey door and concrete garden – quite an indictment of modern values. Hopefully that grim image will dissolve in favour of fond memories of your mother, the garden and the orange door of your childhood home.
    ~
    The picture, taken three weeks ago, is from Badgers Weir near Healesville in the Yarra Valley not too far out of Melbourne and even closer to that RACV club which I mentioned in connection with vegan croissants, amongst other things.
    With love
    DD
    XOX
    xox

    Like

Leave a comment