5 thoughts on “Japanese maple”

  1. A beautiful tree indeed, but man’s fiddling with nature has messed up the seasons. Climate change is well and truly upon us, although there are still many people who believe that climate change is nonsense.

    Over here, we’ve had some beautiful, sunny days with temperatures as high as the early 20Cs. However, the temperatures suddenly dropped last week, and we had lashing rain, galeforce winds and hailstones crashing into the windows. Although we are at the end of April and May should be very springlike, we have temperatures of 9C or 10C during the day, and it’s been droppingto 1C at night. Crazy weather. We are now in for another two weeks of constant rain, meaning more floods will occur. Typical English weather, I suppose, but as a child, I remember when summer was gloriously warm and sunny and winter was cold and snowy. We haven’t had snow now for about three years. Climate change worries me greatly, not so much for me but for our children, grandchildren and future generations. Much love, Ellie Xox xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That tree is the one from an earlier post – the picture of red leaves cascading over a pool. It’s so big I wanted to double check it was a Japanese maple before naming it.
      It seems they grow even bigger in Japan.
      ~
      I looked after a Climate change doubter yesterday. No point arguing when people choose what to believe, possibly just to be contrary or maybe in an attempt to try to position themselves as smarter than everyone else.
      I suggested that things might be even worse than they need to be if we are going through a repetition of a past pattern plus man made climate change.
      That actually brought that part of our discussion to a logical close.
      But it doesn’t close down the worry.
      ~
      Ironically the conversation then somehow shifted on to her telling me that she wanted to have her family ashes (mother, father, husband and her) shot into the air in fireworks as a pyrotechnic farewell to Life.
      Me? I’d rather be composted.
      Now that is an odd note to end on.
      Can I twist it into a happier ending? Only in the sense that I’d rather live on as humus helping the cycle of life to revolve.
      🌱☮️
      All my love,
      DD
      XOX
      xox

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I thought it was the same tree. We do have Japanese Maples, but they are nowhere near the size of this one. They are rather beautiful.

        Unfortunately, there are many climate change deniers. I’ve encountered many of them as a part-time climate change activist. Now, I drum in the band at protests and more peaceful actions. I don’t want to risk getting arrested! Good for you for trying to make this person understand the seriousness of the situation, even though she sounds like she was hell-bent on proving you wrong and that she knew better.

        Having your ashes shot up into the air like a firework seems an extraordinary choice to me. Like you, I want to let my body become part of the earth to help other struggling little creatures and wildlife to keep the cycle of life going. I’ve already told my children not to bury me in a mahogany or similar coffin with indestructible brass handles on it. I want to go in something compostable, possibly wicker or one of those pods that break down in the soil. Some of these even have the seed of a tree planted in them, and the compost I become will feed the seedling and the tree will grow. I love that idea.

        In the ocassional discussion with someone who asks, what would you like to come back as, I’ve always said, a tree. I’d quite like to be an oak 🌳🐍🦉💕

        Like

Leave a comment